Skip Navigation

HOME  |  SITEMAP  |  CONTACT US  |  TRANSLATE

Quicklinks
Justice of the Peace
 
Teri Nunley
Justice of the Peace Pct 1



Office Location:
204 E. San Antonio (Historical Court House) second floor
Mailing  Address:
201 E. San Antonio #20-A
Boerne, Texas 78006
Contact Information and Office Hours:
Phone: 830-249-9343 X 334 or direct line: 830-331-8258
Fax 830-249-7046

EMAIL: Leandra Quick

 

General Office Hours:           
Monday-Friday
8:00 A.M.-12:00 noon / 1:00 P.M.-5:00 P.M.
                                                         

The Justice of the Peace Precinct 1 office handles traffic citations and civil cases filed within precinct one.  Judge Nunley also preforms marriage ceremonies as well.  Please see below for detailed information.  

 

****EFFECTIVE 1/1/2020 FINES AND FEES HAVE CHANGED****  

DRIVER SAFETY COURSE (non school zone) $144.00

DRIVER SAFETY COURSE- SCHOOL ZONE  $169.00

READ YOUR YELLOW PAMPHLET THAT WAS PROVIDED AT THE TIME OF YOUR TRAFFIC STOP.  IT LISTS THE MOST COMMON OFFENSES WITH CURRENT FINES AND FEES.  

 


 

CRIMINAL/ TRAFFIC CITATION INFORMATION:

The court cannot give legal advise.  It is recommended that you consult an attorney if you are unsure of how you are wanting to handle your case.  This court CANNOT speak to anyone about another person's citation. 

Any persons under the age of 16 years old, you must appear with a parent or guardian.  You must call to make an appointment to speak with the Judge about your citation in open court.  

PLEA DEFINITIONS:

  • A plea of NO CONTEST means that you do not contest the State’s charge(s) against you but are not admitting guilt and agree to pay the fine/costs assessed by the judge. 
  • A plea of GUILTY means that you do not contest the State’s charge(s) against you and admit guilt and agree to pay the fine/costs assessed by the judge. 
  • A plea of NOT GUILTY and you would have to decide either a trial by judge waiving my right to a jury trial or trial by jury.  This means that you intend to contest the charge(s) against you. Your case will be rescheduled for trial and you will be mailed notice of when to appear for a pre-trial hearing.

OPTIONS:

  • Pay citation in full: appear in person, pay online, or mail in payment.  Submitting full payment for your fine and costs constitutes a plea of no contest and the offense will be reported as a conviction. 
  • Extension to pay in full: enter your plea in writing and submit it to the court by your due date.  The offense will be reported as a conviction.  You will be given 30 days to pay in full.  If not paid within 30 days a $15.00 time-payment fee will be added.
  • Driving Safety Course (DSC):

Eligibility:

  • The driver must hold a valid Class C non-commercial Texas driver’s license or Active Military and immediate family with out of State License/or permit may be eligible;
  •  The driver must not have taken a driving safety course to dispose of a traffic offense within the previous 12 months;
  • The driver must not be currently taking a driving safety course to dispose of another offense in any other court;
  • The request for DSC must be made on or before the appearance date on the ticket - The driver must plead “guilty” or “nolo contendere” (no contest);

Offenses NOT eligible for discharge through a driving safety course include:

  • Speeding 25 or more miles per hour over the posted speed limit;  
  • A speed of 95 MPH or greater;
  • Construction or maintenance work zone violations (when workers are present);
  • Failure to stop at the scene of an accident;
  • Failure to give information or render aid;  
  • Reckless driving;  
  • Overtaking a school bus;  
  • Fleeing police;  
  • Offenses committed by a driver holding a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)
  • The driver must have valid auto liability insurance;

The court must receive ALL the required documents listed below before the court can grant your DSC request.  You must submit: 

  1. A printed copy of your current Texas Driver License (or current military information if not a Texas resident),
  2. A printed copy of your insurance,
  3. The notarized affidavit located in the inside of the yellow pamphlet,  
  4. A cashier's check or money order  made payable to JP#1 for the court cost for DSC of $144.00-$169.00 (school zone or construction zone WITHOUT workers present).  THE COURT WILL NOT MAKE COPIES OF THE REQUIRED DOCUMENTS, YOU MUST SUBMIT THEM.
  • Deferred Disposition (probation): You must enter your plea and submit it to the court along with a copy of your DL and proof of auto insurance by your due date.  If approved, the probation period may be up to 180 days.  Fees will be assessed by the Judge.  CDL holders are not eligible for deferred.  For any offenses occurring in a construction zone while workers present a deferral is not an option.  If you are under the age of 25 you will also be required to complete the DSC as a condition of the deferral. 

  • Dismissals:  Potential dismissals for such offenses as Expired Registration, Expired Driver License, or Defective Equipment may be dismissed if you remedy the defect( if expired registration you must pay the penalty fee with the tax assessor's office), submit in paper form (photos or receipts) to the court either by the 20th day after your citation date or by the "on or before" date listed on your citation which these dismissal carry a $10.00 dismissal fee.  If you were cited for No Insurance and you had current insurance the date of your citation, you may present proof of your insurance to the court for a dismissal with no dismissal fee.  If you did not have current insurance the date of your citation, your case cannot be dismissed. 
  • Alternatives to Payment of Fines and Costs: If you plead Guilty or No Contest to a criminal offense punishable by fine only you are entitled to alternative methods of satisfying the judgment against you if you are unable to pay the fine or cost, in whole or in part. Those alternative methods include:

 1) A payment plan, allowing the defendant to make payments toward the fine and cost in designated intervals. Note that if any amount is paid more than 30 days after the judgment assessing the fine or cost then a time payment fee must be assessed.

2) Disposition of the amount assessed by performing community service. There are many options that meet the requirements of the law for community service, see Art. 45.049 of the Code of Criminal Procedure for full details. A defendant is entitled to a minimum of $100 credit for every 8 hours of community service performed.

3) If performing community service imposes an undue hardship, a defendant who is indigent or who lacks sufficient resources to pay is entitled to a waiver of the fine and costs, in whole or in part.

An indigency form MUST be submitted to the court for review by Judge Nunley to determine which( if any) of the above alternatives qualify.  The indigency form is listed below under Criminal Citation Forms.

Criminal Citation Forms:

Plea and Options

Driver Safety Course

Deferred Disposition

Indigency Form

 


 

WHEN PAYING FINES by mail, send Cashier's Check or Money Order only.  Cash or personal checks are not accepted.  To pay with a credit card online or by phone, contact certified payments at 1-866-549-1010 or go to Certified Payments webpage.   When paying a citation for Precinct 1, you must use bureau code3740102 to allocate your payment to this precinct.  This bureau code is for Precinct 1 payments only.   If you remit payment to this bureau code for another precinct citation, your payment will be refunded and your case may fall delinquent in the correct court.  


 

CIVIL CASE INFORMATION:

The court cannot give legal advise.  It is recommended that you consult an attorney if you are unsure of how you are wanting to handle your case. 

When filing a civil case, you must file it in the correct precinct, the court does not determine which precinct is correct for your situation.  Please read the civil filing information provided below for the type of civil filing you are seeking or you can use this interactive map if you are looking within Kendall County.  
To determine which Precinct provides service to your address, Click Here
 
EVICTIONS FILING FEE:  $46.00            FEES FOR SERVICE: $85.00 (per person being served)

SMALL CLAIMS FILING FEE$51.00        FEES FOR SERVICE: $85.00 (per person being served)

DEBT CLAIMS FILING FEE: $51.00
 
Civil Forms:

 

Filing an Eviction Case Information
Filing a Small Claims Case- Information
When Someone has filed a Small Claims against you- information
When a Debit Claim has been Filed against You- Information
Affidavit of Issuance of Bad Check
Petition -- Small Claims
Petition -- Eviction Case

 

 


 

Marriage Ceremonies: Judge Nunley happily preforms marriage ceremonies.  Judge Nunley charges $100.00 in cash for preforming marriage ceremonies.  Payment is due at the time of the ceremony.  Judge Nunley proudly serves our Military personnel at no charge.  Please contact for scheduling and information.   
* Judge Nunley is not currently preforming any marriage ceremonies outside of our office and is not available for Friday, Saturday or Sunday ceremonies.   

COPYRIGHT © 2018. KENDALL COUNTY, TEXAS

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM